The Process Records Media Group

Natural Velvet Premieres “It’s All Mine” on Impose – New Album Due Out 6/2


May 15, 2017

Contact Jae Harvey

646 535 7042

Baltimore based alternative, post-punk band, Natural Velvet has released their new music video on Impose.

Check out the interview and premiere of their newest music video, It’s All Mine.

Vimeo / Streaming via Bandcamp & Soundcloud

Natural Velvet’s new album, “Mirror to Make You” is due out on June 2nd via Friends Records

Pre-Order “Mirror to Make You” via

It’s All Mine is direct, honest, campy, playful, and bodied— the album as a whole is immediate, brash, and bitchy, and seeks to highlight a specific feminine rage. Recorded by Martin Bisi at B.C. Studios (Sonic Youth, Swans, Unsane, Lydia Lunch, etc.), mixed in Baltimore with Rob Girardi (Beach House, Double Dagger, etc.), and mastered by Sarah Register (The Shins, David Bowie, Ariana Grande, Future Islands, etc.).

The cinematography for “It’s All Mine” was shot by director David Manigault, edited by Jeff Rettberg and Elena Debold, and Corynne Ostermann, bass and vocals for Natural Velvet, provided artistic direction. The visuals were drawn from Jane Russell’s classic performance of “Ain’t There Anyone Here For Love” from Gentlemen Prefer Blondes, as well as Faye Dunaway’s performance of Joan Crawford in Mommie Dearest. Replete with footage of a variety of men exercising together by a pool, sequins and other diva aesthetics, a vanity, and a bathtub full of glitter, the video sparkles with camp humor, pop culture references, and cheeky sexuality. Lyrically, the song aims to “take back” the negative associations with bad girls—and instead recognizes the power of this antagonistic characterization; never again shall the pretty protagonist win against the evil villainess. “It’s much more fun to be bad when there’s this much glitter involved”, says Corynne Ostermann, bassist and vocalist.

Mirror To Make You deals with concepts of rage, feminine anger, image and identity, and power. Vocalist and bassist Corynne Ostermann lyrically strips down the veiling and metaphors present in previous Natural Velvet releases Salome With the Head of John the Baptist EP, Shame, and She is Me. Instead, she lays bare transparent wrath and the darkness of chaotic feminine fury. A variety of references abound on the album; Ostermann quotes from Sailor Moon villainesses, feminist film psychoanalytic theory, and art historical writings. Songs range from content about ex partners and fuckboys, longing, sadomasochism, daddy issues, and identity as it pertains to images in culture. This, layered between squealing guitars, driving bass, and the pounding drums present throughout the majority of the album. The album ultimately focuses on abjection and the embrace of ones’ internal evil femme, with turns toward softer self-reflection on side B, and a loving last song on the album.

ABOUT THE BAND: Natural Velvet combines many genres, including post-punk, noise pop, and alternative rock. This quartet fuses pop song structure with dark lyrics and tones to create a noisy dialectic; featuring Corynne Ostermann on bass and vocals, Spike Arreaga on guitar, Kim Te on guitar, and Greg Hatem on drums.

Contact Jae Harvey at for interview inquiries:


Find Natural Velvet


Official Website




Friends Records

Official Website






Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s